top of page

Family Tree


We recently met up with Dr. Jsahna Simmons, pictured here in (family) tree pose with her daughter, Nyasah. Jsahna is a naturopathic physician focused on natural health and wellness, mama of two and totally awe-inspiring. She provides an invaluable service to her community, every day. Read her interview below to learn more about Jsahna and her family. Visit www.DocSimmons.com for more about Jsahna's practice.

Lotus & Bug: Tell us a little about yourself.

Dr. Jsahna Simmons: I am a dedicated naturopathic physician and a creative force in the ever-expanding wellness industry. For over eighteen years, I have devoted my clinical expertise to my private practice located in Montclair, New Jersey. By integrating a full complement of natural health modalities such as nutriceuticals, herbs, homeopathy, clinical nutrition and hypnotherapy, I help guide my patients towards optimal health and wellness.

L & B: What helps you balance your career and personal life?

J.S.: My first fulcrum of balance is the clear decision that my family is my priority. Everything else is relative to that knowing. A regular practice of meditation supports me as I navigate my life.

L & B: Where do you find inspiration?

J.S.: Fortunately, I am easily inspired. Nature, music, architecture, all are regular sources of inspiration. I am most moved; however, by the stories of people who take the “Chopped Basket” of their lives and make a delicious 3 course meal.

L & B: What is your first childhood memory?

J.S.: I distinctly remember lying on the chest of my great-uncle and feeling the vibrations of his snoring on my cheek. He passed on when I was three years old, so that’s my earliest memory.

L & B: Did you have a role model growing up?

J.S.: It appears that I had a different role model for everything that was interesting or important to me. Above all, my Mom was my role model for mothering. She has always been a fierce and deeply loving mother. I hope that time will show me as that and more.

L & B: What’s your favorite aspect about living in your community?

J.S.: I love my community! I so appreciate the diversity, dynamism and intelligence of the people of my life.

L & B: Where is your favorite place to travel to?

J.S.: Whenever I visit Beaufort, South Carolina, I feel like I’ve come back home.

L & B: What is the one thing you’ve never done that you would like to do?

J.S.: Deliver/catch a healthy baby.

L & B: Would you rather fly or read minds?

J.S.: Well since I already read minds, I’ll choose fly! (LOL)

L & B: What was the last gift you gave someone?

J.S.: Recently, I gave someone my unconditional forgiveness. I didn’t realize that it was a gift until I saw the look on her face.

L & B: What’s your favorite item in your closet?

J.S.: Without a doubt, my favorite jeans.

One our mantras at Lotus & Bug is "Be Active. Be Brave. Be Kind.”

How do and your family stay active?

We each have our favorite activities and we support and share with one another. Nyasah, our six year old daughter, enjoys dance, gymnastics, cheer and yoga. Dad is an avid outdoorsman, Kojo, our eighteen year old college student, plays soccer and lacrosse. Mom enjoys dance and yoga.

We asked Nyasah to answer the below questions, as told by mom:

How are you brave?

Nyasah was brave when she had to have bloodwork. Even though she thought having her blood drawn would put her to sleep, she was brave and realized that she was ok when it was over.

How are you kind?

Nyasah is kind to her friends. When she was at a cheer competition, one of her teammates was very nervous. Nyasah told her friend to relax and have fun - and promised her that she would feel great when it was over. It worked out beautifully!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page