top of page

The Mother of Invention


In honor of Mother's Day, we are launching a new series of interviews on our Lotus & Bug Blog, featuring awe-inspiring women in our community and beyond. They are mothers, daughters, sisters, grandmothers, students, teachers, yoginis, makers and entrepreneurs - and they all do amazing things, every day. Listen as they share their insights and stories with us.

Our first interviewee is the incredibly talented:

RACHAEL GROCHOWSKI

Mother of three, Architect, Designer, Entrepreneur, Artist, Activist

and Yoga Teacher

Founder + Principal Architect of RHG Architecture + Design www.rhgdesign.com

felt by RG www.feltbyrg.com

Lotus & Bug: Tell us a little about yourself.

Rachael Grochowski: I'm a mama of three, an architect, a designer, an entrepreneur, an artist, an activist and a yogini! I am also a beginning yoga teacher.

L & B: What helps you balance your career and personal life?

RG: Balance is never easy. My meditation and yoga practice are what keep me grounded. Reminding myself that each moment is an experience of which I am a witness. These practices keep me present for my family and work.

L & B: Where do you find inspiration?

RG: Experiencing and contemplation. I am inspired by travel, spiritual study, awareness of breath within my physical being, nature, and connection.

L & B: What is your first childhood memory?

RG: I'm not certain of my first childhood memory, but my most reoccurring (memory) is frolicking at my grandparents lake cottage, being in nature.

L & B: Did you have a role model growing up?

RG: I didn't really have a specific role model. I think I picked certain qualities from different people and I combined them into one.

L & B: What’s your favorite aspect about living in your community?

RG: Funny that for many years I felt most comfortable living in anonymity, but my favorite part of my community is being known, and know for the whole me, not just a part.

L & B: Where is your favorite place to travel to?

RG: I enjoy traveling to places I have not yet been (and) seeing things that are unfamiliar. Much of my travel is focused on yoga and learning about other cultures. Experiencing and discussing the social dynamics of the culture.

L & B: What is the one thing you’ve never done that you would like to do?

RG: I would love to see the northern lights and ice burgs (and take) a trip to Greenland in the winter.

L & B: Just for fun - would you rather fly or read minds?

RG: Read minds!

L & B: What was the last gift you gave someone?

RG: A plant pot in the shape of a woman's upper body wearing a swim suit with a banana pattern.

L & B: What’s your favorite item in your closet?

RG: My bronze metallic doc martins (and my drop crotch linen pants).

Have a story you'd like to share or know someone who does? Email us at: info@lotusandbug.com


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page