top of page

Natural Mama


Meet mompreneur Kathleen Templeton, the creator of Natural Rituals, a natural and handcrafted body care company. We love this family business (she runs the company with her mom) and her products are fabulous! You may also recognize her adorable daughter who modeled our Peaceful Warrior Baby Bodysuit (on Instagram) in the fall. Read her interview below to get to know this amazing young mom and business owner, learn more about Natural Rituals and meet her beautiful family! Follow @naturalrituals on Instagram and FaceBook.

Lotus & Bug: Tell us a little about yourself.

Kathleen Templeton: I’m 28 years old and have a degree in early childhood education and fine arts. I’ve always been an artist and creator my whole life. Working with my hands is what I truly enjoy. For the last couple of years I have been an assistant teacher at a progressive school. In June, I had my first child, Luana. I then decided to take some time off and care for her while I focused on my side business, Natural Rituals. I make all natural soap & bath and body products.

L & B: What helps you balance your career and personal life?

KT: I’ve always been pretty good with balance. I believe in the yin and yang of life, how opposite forces in life actually compliment each other. I believe that you need the different forces in order to rise up, succeed, and excel.

L & B: Where do you find inspiration?

KT: Nature! I’m always looking for new and fresh ingredients to use in my products. What better way than to go back to the roots, the basics, the earth.

L & B: What is your first childhood memory?

KT: I remember a time my mom and I were walking outside and I found a colorful string on the floor. I told my mom I wanted to keep it. She asked me why and I said I wanted to make something out of it. So, I put it in my pocket. When I got home, that string became the strings on a guitar I had made. I always had a vision for something seemingly useless. I always wanted to create something new from something old. I still do to this day. It’s like a mission for me (or maybe I’m just an art supply hoarder!).

L & B: Did you have a role model growing up?

KT: I didn’t really have a particular role model growing up. My mom is probably the only person I really looked up to. Looking back now, you realize how amazing our mamas really are! She was always kind, supportive and, anything I dreamed, she made it a reality. I admired that quality about her. My mom and I run Natural Rituals together. The business wouldn’t be possible without her.

L & B: What’s your favorite aspect about living in your community?

KT: The heritage! My family is from Portugal and living in the Ironbound (district of Newark, NJ). gives me a taste of that culture. I love being able to get delicious Portuguese food and hear the language being spoken.

L & B: Where is your favorite place to travel to?

KT: Europe. I lived in Spain for one year and it was life changing! I’ve also backpacked though Eastern Europe and I’ve been visiting Portugal since I was a child. I love all the cultures, food, people, art, nature... everything!

L & B: What is the one thing you’ve never done that you would like to do?

KT: Wow, there are so many things! I've never run a marathon, tried aerial yoga, or climbed up Machu Picchu. Maybe I can check one off this year.

L & B: Would you rather fly or read minds?

KT: Fly! I imagine flying would be so peaceful, quiet and relaxing. Imagine how noisy and busy people's minds are! I would much rather glide in peace.

L & B: What was the last gift you gave someone?

KT: I always try to challenge myself and teach myself new things. This past year, I taught myself how to sew! My friend is having a baby, so I sewed a bib and burp cloth for her. I really enjoy the process, but buying awesome fabric is probably my favorite part.

L & B: What’s your favorite item in your closet?

KT: My black wrap sweater. I wear it to bed, with jeans, when I'm going out. It’s so stretchy and comfy. It was my mom's and I haven’t given it back yet!

One our mantras at Lotus & Bug is "Be Active. Be Brave. Be Kind.”

How do and your family stay active?

We get outside. We love getting fresh air and discovering new parks and trails.

How are you brave?

Life’s too short to not be brave! I take chances and try new things! What do you have to lose?

How are you kind?

My daughter is 8 months old and, when I think to myself, what I would like her to be, all I think of is “be kind.” Being kind is what we all need right now in this world. Simple as that.

We couldn't agree more! Have a story you'd like to share, or know someone who does? Email us at: info@lotusandbug.com.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page